top of page

When is a gig not a gig?


Comedy is the first thing I've ever been really obsessed with! I can't actually believe I've done this, but I've kept a list of all the gigs I've ever done and last night was my 250th gig!

There have been some absolute shockers in the 'soon to be' 4 years I've been doing this but I'm going to make this post a happy one and tell you about my 249th gig.

nb the 250th was lovely but the 249th was a stormer.

I compered a gig at the Junction 2 in Cambridge for the Cambridgeshire LGBT charity the Kite Trust. It was a variety night and involved my bestest comedy pal Lucy Thompson.

Lucy is not only a kind friend that has listened to my deepest darkest secrets during long car shares but she's also one of my favourite acts on the comedy circuit - she's ridiculously funny (in both senses of the word).

The audience were so attentive but also rowdy and up for it. I was worried a large proportion of them would have seen my previously so I prepped mostly new material. It turned out the place was packed with loads of comedy virgins so I got to do bits of both.

The stage and set up was so professional and the acts were amazing so it really was an easy job. Lucy and I shared a dressing room with a few of the other acts and she got the drinks in. We managed to score a few extra drinks from the organisers and by the end of the night I was probably slurring my words but the feedback was all positive (I think).

I had so much fun and didn't want the night to end. This was my first binge drinking session since before I got preggo in August 2015. Lucy and I both had our bikes, we went to the pub with a few audience members and I felt like a proper comedian with "fans". In truth I was just banging on about my daughter the whole time but it was still fun nontheless.

I think we arrived home about 2am. Bab woke in the night and puked all over me - I no longer felt like a superstar comedian! Ha ha.

Anyway the gig was SO LOVELY, it made me proud to be gay, proud to be a Mum and chuffed to have an awesome friend in Lucy. Life is good, so long as you turn of your ears to anything Trump says.

bottom of page